Ning Feng

Violine | Genre: Classical

In Chengdu, China, geboren, studierte Ning Feng am Sichuan Konservatorium für Musik, bei Prof. Antje Weithaas an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ in Berlin und bei Hu Kum an der Royal Academy of Music in London, wo er als erster Student in der 200-jährigen Geschichte der Akademie für sein Abschlusskonzert die Höchstpunktzahl erhielt. Preisträger zahlreicher internationaler Wettbewerbe wie dem Joseph Joachim, dem Königin Elisabeth und dem Yehudi Menuhin Wettbewerben, gewann er erste Preise 2005 beim Internationalen Violinwettbewerb Michael Hill in Neuseeland und 2006 beim Internationalen Violinwettbewerb “Premio Paganini”.

In seiner Heimat China auf höchstem Niveau etabliert, gibt Ning Feng dort regelmäβig Solokonzerte und tritt sowohl mit internationalen und nationalen Orchestern als auch mit seinem 2012 gegründeten Dragon Quartet auf. Feng lebt inzwischen in Berlin, gibt weltweit Konzerte und ist für seinen warmen, lyrischen Ton ebenso bekannt wie für seine beindruckenden technischen Fähigkeiten.

Zu den Highlights der Spielzeit 2014/15 gehören Debüts mit dem Los Angeles Philharmonic, den Münchner Symphonikern, dem Konzerthaus Kammerorchester Berlin und dem Liszt Chamber Orchestra sowie Wiedereinladungen zum Auckland Philharmonia, dem Orchestra Sinfonica del Principado de Asturias und dem Macao Symphony Orchestra und Rezitale und Kammermusikkonzerte in Seoul, Hong Kong und Brüssel. Feng wird mit dem Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra unter Vasily Petrenko Konzerte in Dublin und in China geben und mit dem Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra und Jaap van Zweden auf Tournee gehen und das Beethoven Violinkonzert in Wien, Berlin, London, Zürich und weiteren wichtigen Musikstädten spielen.

In den vergangenen Spielzeiten führte Feng im Rahmen der Bernstein Feierlichkeiten des Konzerthaus Berlin Bernsteins Serenade mit dem Konzerthausorchester unter Iván Fischer auf, ging mit dem Budapest Festival Orchestra ebenfalls unter Iván Fischer auf Chinatournee und gab u.a. Konzerte mit der Russischen Staatssinfonie, dem Orchestre National de Lyon und dem Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg in Konzerthäusern wie dem Sydney Opera House, dem Groβen Saal Moskau, dem Konzerthaus Wien, Shanghai Oriental Arts Center und Beijings NCPA. Zusammen mit Igor Levit trat er bei den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, dem Heidelberger Frühling, den Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspielen, den Kunstfestspielen Herrenhausen und beim Kissinger Sommer auf, bei dem Feng jedes Jahr zu Gast ist und 2014 Artist-in-Residence war. Weitere Festivalauftritte waren u.a. beim Hong Kong International Chamber Music Festival, dem Prager Frühling,dem Menuhin Festival Gstaad und dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival.

Ning Fengs Einspielung von Tschaikowskis Violinkonzert und Bruchs Schottischer Fantasie mit dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin erschien bei seinem holländischen Label Channel Classics im Februar 2014. Pizzicato Magazin schrieb: „Er beeindruckt nicht nur mit seinen technischen Fähigkeiten, sondern ebenso mit einem warmen, beseelten und stets vollen, lyrischen Ton, der zu großen Emotionen führen kann“, Crescendo bewunderte seinen „betörend duftenden Geigenton“ und Gramophone schrieb:„Die schnellen, hohen Passagen klingen wunderbar klar und rein und der erste Satz [von Tschaikowski] insbesodere ist voll tänzerischer Anmut.“ Feng hat auch zwei CDs mit Repertoire für Violine Solo aufgenommen, eine mit Werken von Bartok, Prokofiev und Hindemith und die andere mit virtuosen Werken von u.a. Paganini, Kreisler, Berio und Schnittke, über die Audiophile Audition schrieb “Man wird schier umgehauen von der Kunstfertigkeit dieses Albums ...das von höchst möglichem künstlerischem Können und herausragender Programmierung zeugt.”

Ning Feng spielt die als “MacMillen” bekannte Stradivari Violine aus dem Jahr 1721, eine von Premiere Performances of Hong Kong arrangierte private Leihgabe.

Ning Feng spielt Peter Infeld Violinesaiten by Thomastik-Infeld Vienna

Ning Feng

Violin | Genre: Classical

Established at the highest level in China, Ning Feng performs regularly in his native country with both major international and local orchestras, in recital and with the Dragon Quartet which he founded in 2012. Now based in Berlin and playing with major orchestras across the globe, Ning Feng has developed a reputation internationally as an artist of great lyricism and emotional transparency, displaying tremendous bravura and awe-inspiring technical accomplishment.

Born in Chengdu, China, Ning Feng studied at the Sichuan Conservatory of Music, the Hanns Eisler School of Music (Berlin) with Antje Weithaas and the Royal Academy of Music (London) with Hu Kun, where he was the first student ever to be awarded 100% for his final recital.

The recipient of prizes at the Hanover International, Queen Elisabeth and Yehudi Menuhin International violin competitions, Ning Feng was First Prize winner of the 2005 Michael Hill International Violin Competition (New Zealand), and in 2006 won first prize in the International Paganini Competition.

Established at the highest level in China, Ning Feng performs regularly in his native country with both major international and local orchestras, in recital and with the Dragon Quartet which he founded in 2012. Now based in Berlin and enjoying a global career, Ning Feng has developed a reputation internationally as an artist of great lyricism and emotional transparency, displaying tremendous bravura and awe-inspiring technical accomplishment.

Highlights of Ning's 2014/15 season include debuts with the LA Philharmonic, Munich Symphony Orchestra, the Liszt and Berlin Konzerthaus Chamber orchestras, returns to the Auckland Philharmonia, Orchestra Sinfonica del Principado de Asturias, Macao Symphony and recitals and chamber performances in Seoul, Hong Kong and Brussels. He will also be soloist on two major tours, performing the Glazunov Concerto with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic/Petrenko in Dublin and across China, and later in the season the Beethoven Concerto with the Hong Kong Philharmonic/Van Zweden across some of the major centres of Europe, including London, Zurich, Berlin and Vienna.

Recent successes for Ning have included performances of Bernstein's Serenade with the Berlin Konzerthaus Orchester/Iván Fischer as part of the Konzerthaus's Bernstein celebrations, a tour of China with the Budapest Festival Orchestra/Iván Fischer, performances with the Russian State Symphony, Orchestre National de Lyon, Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg amongst others in halls such as Sydney Opera House, Moscow’s Great Hall, Vienna Konzerthaus, Shanghai Oriental Arts Center and Beijing’s NCPA. In recital and chamber music he has played in prestigious series and festivals such as Vancouver Recital Series, Hong Kong International Chamber, Prague Spring, Menuhin Festival Gstaad and Schleswig-Holstein Festivals and with Igor Levit he has performed across Germany, including at the Ludwigsburg and Mecklenburg Vorpommern Festivals, and also at the Kissinger Sommer Festival where he plays every year and where he was an Artist-in-Residence in 2014.

Ning Feng records for Channel Classics in the Netherlands and his debut concerto disc, featuring Bruch Scottish Fantasy and the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto with Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, was released in February 2014. Pizzicato magazine said, "He impresses not only with his technical skill but also with a warm, inspired and consistently full and lyric tone, able to express great emotion", and Gramophone magazine wrote, "The fast, high passages sound wonderfully clear and pure, and the first movement [of the Tchaikovsky], in particular, abounds in balletic grace." He has also recorded two discs of solo violin repertoire; one featuring sonatas by Bartók, Prokofiev and Hindemith, and the other virtuoso works by Paganini, Kreisler, Berio, Schnittke and others about which Audiophile Audition said, “none of these works is anything less than enthralling, and a few approach the incandescent. Milstein’s arrangement of the Paganiniana has never been bettered… this is an unqualified recommendation of a wonderful album that demonstrates the highest artistic and programming skills possible.”

Ning Feng plays a 1721 Stradivari violin, known as the ‘MacMillan’, on private loan, kindly arranged by Premiere Performances of Hong Kong, and plays on strings by Thomastik-Infeld, Vienna.

Ning Feng plays Peter Infeld violin strings by Thomastik-Infeld Vienna